Home » Full List: FIFA Women’s World Cup Award winners

Full List: FIFA Women’s World Cup Award winners


The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup ended in a 1-0 win between Spain and England, with the Spanish team holding the lead since the 29th minute, courtesy of 23-year-old Olga Carmona’s left-footed effort.

Telescope.ng reports that Olga’s strike handed La Roja their first World Cup title.

Spain and England both reached the Women’s World Cup final for the first time.

The Spanish La Roja saw off the tournament’s second runners-up, Sweden, in a 2-1 win in the semi-final stage.

Likewise, Australia lost to the Lionesses in the semi-final round by 3-1.

World Cup host countries, Australia and New Zealand, were eliminated in the semi-final and group stages, respectively.

Co-host, New Zealand, got kicked out of the competition after a 0-0 draw against Switzerland. With that, New Zealand becomes the first host of the Women’s World Cup to be eliminated in the group stage.

With their first win in their first World Cup final, the Spanish side completes a historic treble, winning the U-17 (2018, 2022), U-20 (2022), and National Team (2023).

Award winners

Best Young Player: Salma Paralluelo (Spain)

Golden Glove: Mary Earps (England)

Golden Ball: Aitana Bonmati (Spain)

Golden Boot: Hinata Miyazawa (Japan)

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *