Home » 2023: APC crisis deepens in Kano as Ganduje’s commissioner dumps party, picks NNPP Reps ticket

2023: APC crisis deepens in Kano as Ganduje’s commissioner dumps party, picks NNPP Reps ticket


The massive defection hitting the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in Kano took another twist on Wednesday, May 18, as the state commissioner of finance and economic development, Shehu Na’allah, dumped the party for the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

Telescope.ng gathered that Na’allah defected to NNPP alongside his former boss, Senator Ibrahim Shekarau, on Wednesday.

He was immediately selected as the consensus candidate for Kura/Madobi/Garun Mallam federal constituency.

It would be recalled that on May 14, Governor Ganduje’s chief of staff, Ali Makoda, resigned and led over a dozen notable politicians in Kano North to dump the APC.

Also, on May 6, nine members of the state House of Assembly defected from Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to NNPP.

They are Isyaku Ali Danja (Gezawa Constituency), Umar Musa Gama (Nassarawa Constituency), Aminu Sa’adu Ungogo (Ungogo Constituency), Lawan Hussain Chediyar ‘Yan Gurasa (Dala Constituency) and Tukur Muhammad (Fagge Constituency).

Others are Mu’azzam El-Yakub (Dawakin Kudu Constituency), Garba Shehu Fammar (Kibiya Constituency), Abubakar Uba Galadima (Bebeji Constituency) and Mudassir Ibrahim Zawaciki (Kumbotso Constituency).

A week later, a former speaker of the House of Assembly and serving member of the House of Representatives, Alhassan Rurum, decamped from APC to NNPP alongside a former adviser to President Muhammadu Buhari on National Assembly matters, Kawu Sumaila.

Two former speakers of the state House of Assembly, Gambo Sallau and Alhassan Abubakar Kibiya also defected from APC to NNPP.

On May 11, three APC lawmakers in the Kano State House of Assembly defected to NNPP. They are Abdullahi Iliyasu-Yaryasa, member representing Tudunwada Constituency; Muhammed Bello Butu-Butu, member representing Tofa/Rimin Gado Constituency and; Kabiru Yusuf Ismail, member representing Madobi Constituency.

On May 12, the deputy speaker of the Kano State House of Assembly, Zubairu Hamza Massu, and member representing Bagwai/Shanono in the Assembly, Ali Isa Shanono also joined the defection frenzy to NNPP.

Also joining the NNPP on Friday is Abdulmumin Jibrin, a campaigner of the APC presidential aspirant Bola Tinubu as well as the immediate-past Kano State commissioner for Budget Planning Nura Dankadai.

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *